side banner will go here

Church History

A Brief History
On June 2, 1902, a small group of Baptist believers, desiring a place of their own to worship, organized the Mt. Olive Baptist Church.  Rev. J. A. Green was the pastor.  In 1915, under the leadership of Rev. Wear, the church was reorganized as the Mt. Calvary Second Baptist Church.  Rev. A. S. Simons was the first pastor of the newly organized church located at 1405 Cherry Avenue SE.
In 1926, the church relocated to 609 Eight Street SE.  The church membership continued to grow and consequently, a larger facility was needed.  Therefore, on May 13, 1962, the church moved from 609 Eight Street SE, to our present location, 1000 Third Street NE.
Regrettably, a fire destroyed the church on October 16, 1966.  However, with many prayers and hard work, the church was rebuilt and the ribbon cutting ceremony and dedication service was held on March 23, 1969.  Another fire destroyed the church sanctuary on February 3, 1984.  The restoration and rededication service for the sanctuary occurred on November 25, 1984.
From the 1902 until 1957, a succession of pastors ministered unto the congregation.  On May 20, 1957, the Rev. C. A. Lightbourn of Cleveland, OH was elected the pastor, and he served until he retired on December 31, 1993.  During the tenure of Rev. Lightbourn, the church's name was changed to Mt. Calvary Second Missionary Baptist.
After Rev. Lightbourn retired, there were several pastors until Rev. Dr. Eric C. Johnson was elected on August 17, 2003.  During Rev. Johnson's tenure, Minister Philip Moore was ordained on May 1, 2005, and serves as the Assistant Pastor.
As Mt. Calvary Second Missionary Baptist Church stood as a beacon years ago, so it stands today.
To all who mourn and need comfort; to all who are weary and need rest; to all who are friendless and wish friendship; to all who pray and to all who do not, but ought; to all who sin and need a Savior; to whoever will, this church opens wide the door in the name of Jesus Christ, our Lord.